Congratulations to Palmeiras, 2012 Brazilian Cup winners!

Champions, at last!

After a 4 years trophy drought, the São Paulo side Palmeiras, which hadn’t won a national title since 1998 (2003 if you count their Brazilian League 2nd Division title), went on to draw against a very strong Coritiba team in their home court 1-1, making an aggregate 3-1 score and being rightfully winners of this trophy. Sadly for Coritiba, this is the first consecutive time they made it through the finals of the competition, but failed to win it. Last year they lost it to Vasco, and now they lost it to Palmeiras.

Nevertheless, congratulations to the champions! I just wish they didn’t go “cliché” on their celebrations and played Queen “We Are the Champions”, though.


Leave a comment

Filed under 2012 season, Brazilian Cup, Coritiba, Palmeiras

Discuss away!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s